Located in the heart of the City at the intersection of Central Street and Westwood Road, the Somerville Museum has served as the community’s premier cultural institution for nearly a century. The Museum’s landmark Federal Revival building was constructed in the 1920’s to house the growing collection of the Somerville Historical Society. In the 1980’s, with a changing demographic and the need to expand the mission of the Society, a handful of committed individuals raised the funds to fully renovate and restore the building. The result was the newly consecrated Somerville Museum, which officially reopened in 1988.
While specializing in the visual arts — including many exhibits with both historical and local significance – the Museum also offers various musical and lecture series, a number carried out in collaboration with Somerville’s public schools. An important meeting place for local historical and cultural organizations, the Museum has a long tradition of encouraging hands-on learning projects for young and old alike.
As the only membership supported, non-profit, volunteer-run, community-based cultural institution of its kind in Somerville, members and volunteers are always welcome.
Use the links below to find out more about volunteer opportunities, membership and how you can donate and make a difference.
Renovations + Projects
The Museum is not currently handicapped accessible, but will soon begin a renovation to include an elevator to better serve the community. To learn about this project, click here. To donate to this project and others, click here.
The Museum is now known for its iconic Bullfinch staircase. The staircase was built by architect Charles Bullfinch for Joseph Barrell’s mansion in Cobble Hill. It was then brought over to the Museum in 1945. To learn more, click here.